fragile

People’s states of mind

are so fragile and I can’t help

but think that i am one of them

i used to carry myself with a poker face

and blind my peripheral view for no distractions

and armed myself with a cold shoulder

but here i am now, my spine a canopy over the bathroom sink

the sterility of the room makes me feel like a germ

and i can’t help but reflect the blue light onto the mirror

i cry about my worries that haven’t happened yet

and wonder if you feel the knot in my throat

when your knife plunges my spine

you backstabber

 

Daily Prompt: Fragile

One Comment Add yours

  1. really made me think about my view on myself and others, especially as I am extremely introverted and often see myself as something foreign in my little ‘safe space’.
    Beautifully written.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

